For more information please visit my website: www.cargocollective.com/megbeamish

Flaky Slip

Last week I made some iron slip using river Soar clay and red iron oxide. I brushed this onto some salad bowls which were unloaded from the communal bisque over the weekend. Sadly, the slip shrank much more than the St Thomas clay body, and so it pulled away.

I have brushed it all off, and after some research in books and asking around in the studio, I have decided to calcine some of the iron slip – grind it down and fire to about 600. This will then mix into a 50/50 mixture, to try and lower it’s shrinkage rate. However, it might be too late for me to use this slip this term.

17440069_10212883325698243_734296241_n

Leave a Reply

