For more information please visit my website: www.cargocollective.com/megbeamish

Last weeks firing

The kiln I fired on Friday went very well, and there are things I can learn from. I am glad that I am doing my last firings over a few weeks, so that I can make any improvements or slight changes that I need to. For example, the Shino I am using needs to be applied very thinly to the insides of functional wares, so as it doesn’t crawl. However, on the outsides and on larger pots it can be heavily applied, so as to get more carbon trapping.

The Phil Rogers Tenmoku I made using willow ash is lovely, and works great with stamps in the clay. I will be using it more in the next firing.

Where the Shino changes from bright, firey orange to the carbon gray, it is almost as if the are two different glazes on the pot. The colour combination is great.

_MG_5717_MG_5729_MG_5736_MG_5756_MG_5761

 

Leave a Reply

